Follow Friday #2

5 Aug


Follow Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read.
It helps bloggers like me get out there and meet new bloggers! Here is this weeks question:

Talk about the book that most changed or influenced your life. Was it a book that turned you from an average to avid reader? Did it help you with a particularly difficult situation?Does it bring you comfort every time you read it?

Ramona Quimby
I was a lot like Ramona Quimby as a child (and still kind of am). I had an overactive imagination and spent a good majority of my time day dreaming or telling outrageous stories to my siblings and friends to keep them entertained. One day, my best friend suggested I write them down and I’ve been at it ever since.

Oddly enough, I never read any of the Ramona books as a child and wasn’t really big on reading anyway. At least, not until my step-dad forced me to read  A Spell for Chameleon by Piers Anthony. He was convinced I would love it and I had that pesky book report to do anyhow.

I fell headfirst into the bizarre and humorous world of Xanth. I remember devouring the first three books in the series (A Spell for ChameleonSource of Magic, and Castle Roogna) during winter break. Thus sparking my passion for reading and my torrid love-affair with the fantasy genre.

2 Responses to “Follow Friday #2”

  1. livredeamour August 6, 2011 at 10:09 am #

    Interesting. Come visit me over at Livre De Amour-Books of Love Blog.

  2. Ali Cross August 8, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

    Never read any of the Ramona books, but I LOVE Piers Anthony! Thanks for reminding me! I’m gonna have to pick up some of his for my boys …

    You’ve got a lovely blog here Jaqueline! I’m happy to have met you!

Leave a Reply or just say hi

