Notebooks Anonymous

11 Jul
fancy journal and pen

fancy journal and pen for my work-in-progress

My boyfriend thinks I have a notebook “problem”, but what I have are notebook SOLUTIONS. Okay, maybe I have a special drawer or three full of journals, spiral notebooks, and pocket sized Moleskines, but I need all of these.

Something about scribbling down story ideas and snippets of dialog into a Moleskine makes me feel warm and happy inside. I know my smart phone could take over in the place of a pocket-sized notebook and pen, but it just doesn’t feel the same. I like having a solid object to symbolize my effort and I love the ability to flip through my random thoughts and pieces of description. Plus, there is something to be said for having a special, designated place for things.

Robin notebook

Whatever shall I write in you? Maybe about mobster fairies? Yessssss!

Since I started Camp WriMo / JulNoWriMo, I’ve almost exclusively written my work-in-progress in a fancy journal. It was super handy last week when I had a writer’s retreat at the beach. And while there’s still some sand trapped between the pages, writing by hand helped me clear my mind and silence my inner-editor. I’ve talked about this before, but sometimes switching up your medium can help things flow onto the page easier.

Today, I picked up a couple journal-sized notebooks. I couldn’t stop myself. First of all, I was in love with Robin in middle school. Batman Forever might’ve been a bad movie, but I LOVED Chris O’Donnell. He and I were going to run away together and fight crime. Don’t judge me.

image

Second of all: “Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and it may be necessary from time to time to give a stupid or misinformed beholder a black eye” – Miss Piggy. She is my number one diva. That pig is fierce.

I must write a short story in this about a sassy young lady. Maybe a southern belle turned zombie? Hellz yes! I can see the character forming in my mind already. Thus is the beauty of notebooks and why it’s totally okay for me to have piles and piles of them waiting in the wings. Besides, you never know when you’ll need a good notebook. 😉

Leave a Reply or just say hi

