Camp NaNoWriMo

15 Jun

A creative writing teacher told me about NaNoWriMo back in 2003; I’ve attempted and failed miserably every year since then. Between diving 650 miles to see my family, the holidays themselves, and the trip back, I can’t commit to writing 1,667 words a day. But now the people over at NaNoWriMo have something for folks like me. CAMP NANOWRIMO!

The rules remain the same: write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days, which breaks down to 1,667 words per day. The month slated for the festivities is yet to be announced and the website for Camp WriMo isn’t fully functional, but don’t let this dishearten you. Watch out for updates and announcements on NaNoWriMo’s main page.

My prediction is Camp WriMo will take place in August. If you want something sooner, there is an unaffiliated JulNoWriMo to sate your novel-in-a-month needs. They are in their seventh year and would love to have you.

I’m torn between taking the July plunge or waiting for Camp WriMo later in the summer. Maybe I’ll do both. I have a newly started novel that could use the JulNoWriMo boost. Then I could work on something completely different for Camp WriMo.

What are your writing plans for the summer? Will it be one or the other? Both or neither?

Leave a Reply or just say hi

