Introducing Alphabet Absurdity

1 Mar

 

Presenting the further adventures of everybody’s favorite superhero, the man who is faster than lightning, stronger than steel, smarter than a speeding bullet… it’s Super Grover!

Like everyone else born after 1969, The Muppets were a big part of my childhood. When I was five, I named my hamsters Ernie and Bert and wanted to be Miss Piggy when I grew up. Most importantly (since this is a writerly blog), The Monster at the End of This Book featuring Grover was one of my favorite books. I read the cover off that thing.

That should give you an idea of how excited I was when I found this. I need that Super Grover t-shirt. Even if Target listed it as Gonzo and not Grover. Shame on you, Target!

My online shopping habits aside, this got me thinking about those sing-songy skits on Sesame Street about letters of the alphabet. It inspired me to create a new category for Prompty Tuesday. I call it… ALPHABET ABSURDITY! You’ll get the ‘absurd’ part of the name when we get to the letter ‘X’ and we have to work with words like xenophobia.

 

Sesame Street gangsters

Gangster muppets want you to write. Or else.

 

Use these five words in your scene: absorb, adultery, antibiotic, antenna, assure.

Happy writing!

Leave a Reply or just say hi

